Driving while impaired is a risky business.
Being arrested for DWI is an expensive risk to take.
Fines can exceed well over $5000,00 in Legal fees and court costs for a first DWI conviction.
Jail sentence can amount up to a maximum of 90 days in jail or mandatory 48 hours if offender fails to comply with any conditions of probation.
Driver's license revocation upon conviction is 1 year and Ignition Interlock and Interlock license is required for all first time offenders.
A DWI arrest has a negative Impact on future employment prospects.
After you have complied to all the consequences of the arrest you may face more financial losses, which are:
License reinstatement fees, and your auto insurance rates
will increase up to $1,000.00 more than usual if you were convicted for DWI.
Download a Copy of The High Cost of DWI in New Mexico
What makes DWI A CRIME?
Alcohol reduces safe-driving abilities therefore endangering the public and yourself as well.
• In 2015, 10,265 people died in alcohol-impaired-driving crashes in the US.
• In 2015, 290,000 people were injured in the US.
• Approximately 4 to 14 percent of drivers who sustained injury or died in traffic accidents tested positive for THC.
• 148 people have died in alcohol-related crashes in New Mexico in 2014.
New numbers from the Dept. of Transportation show a 36% increase of deadly drunk driving crashes since 2015 in New Mexico.
How much is too much and what counts as a standard drink?
Below are standard drink equivalents as well as the number of standard drinks in different container sizes for each beverage.
These are approximate, as the percent of pure alcohol varies by beverage.
It's not how many "drinks" that you have, but how much alcohol
that you consume.
Cocktails: Depending on the recipe, you can have one, two, or more “standard” drinks in one cocktail or mixed drink.
Example: One Margarita Cocktail contains:
33.3% alcohol in 3 total fluid ounces = 1.7 standard drinks
2 Margaritas = 3.4 drinks
3 Margaritas = 5.1 drinks
Check out other cocktail mixes at: Cocktail content calculator
Download the FREE Rethinking Drinking Booklet. Valuable information about How much is too much to drink. CLICK HERE
How many drinks does it take to become legally intoxicated?
For some individuals, it often takes very little alcohol to become legally intoxicated and certain physical characteristics such as weight, gender and body fat percentage.
Click on the charts below to enlarge.
BAC Chart for Men
BAC Chart for Women
Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) continues to rise even after person stops Drinking.
It takes about one hour for the liver to metabolize one drink. (In the female this number will be about 20% longer, regardless of body weight.
Forced Fluids like Coffee, Cold Showers, Walking it Off or Sleeping it Off is a Myth. The only thing that can sober you up is time.
References: National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism • New Mexico Department of Transportation
You do not have to Drink and Drive!
There are several options available to you.
During the Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Christmas and New Year holidays
AAA offers FREE towing home up to a maximum of 15 miles.
Plan ahead by Choosing a Designated Driver.
Arrange it with a friend or family member.
Call a Taxi: Small charges may apply. Call ahead to inquire.
Bernalillo County - (505) 999-1400 • Dona Ana County (575) 524-TAXI (8294) • Grant County (575) 388-1813 • Lea County (575) 391-2982 • Luna County (575) 388-3180 •
San Miguel County (575) 429-0336 • Santa Fe County (505) 438-0000 •
Torrance County (505) 705-0332
BAC Charts - hamsnetwork.org • NHTSA